Looking for an extended warranty

This is the place to post any topics related to the NJBMWCCA Community that don't fall into the other categories.
radman07

Looking for an extended warranty

Post by radman07 »

Hello all,

This is my first time posting to this forum. I just took possession of an imperial blue 535XD and I am loving it! Now I want to look into getting an extended warranty while I have low milage on the vehicle. Does anybody have any recommendations? I am currently looking at the BMW 7/70k extended warranty and the totalcare 10yr/120k warranty. Does anybody have an contacts to get discounts on these warranties?

Thanks for your help in advance....

sgoatley2001e46

Re: Looking for an extended warranty

Post by sgoatley2001e46 »

Hey - welcome to the forum. I have mixed feelings on the warranty. I purchased a non-BMW warranty for my first BMW, and it was on the cheaper side, but still pricey. I did have a major failure at around 136K miles, and the repair was covered...mostly. I still had a large out of pocket cost, and when factored with the original price of the warranty, it didn't save me anything. My current car came with a CPO warranty that will expire later this year. (for a reference point its a 2009 328i). The expiration is going to happen based on time, not miles. I have about 58K miles on the clock now.

I think the smartest thing you can do is to maintain the car properly, and above what is recommended by the dealer. While there are more expensive cars out there to maintain, BMW's certainly aren't cheap. In my experience, it's easier and cheaper to service the car regularly, use OEM or OEM approved parts for repairs, and for the love man, change the trans fluid, and the differential fluids.